Configuration

Frequently asked questions regarding meter configuration issues.

What password do I use to save a change to the settings?

For meters purchased on or after Jan 2021:

Meters shipped after January 2021 will come with a random password assigned to the meter at the time of manufacture. This password is printed on the side of the meter opposite the CT ports. Assuming the meter still has the default eGauge configuration, you may use the following credentials to make changes:

user: owner

pass: <refer to label>

In order to use these credentials, you must ensure that you are directly connected to the device by clicking the LAN Access link at the top right of the device web page before entering credentials.  When done correctly, the address in your browser address bar will change from a full URL (for example, http://DEVNAME.egaug.es) to an IP address (for example, 192.168.1.88).

eGauge Systems does not maintain a record of the password associated with a meter. A remote password reset can be requested, but the original password is cannot be restored.

Note that a factory reset will restore the password the meter originally came with.

 


 

For meters purchased prior to Jan 2021:

Assuming the device comes with the default eGauge configuration, you may use the following credentials to make changes:

user: owner 

password: default 

In order to use these credentials, you must ensure that you are directly connected to the device by clicking the LAN Access link at the top right of the device web page before entering credentials.  When done correctly, the address in your browser address bar will change from a full URL (for example, http://DEVNAME.egaug.es) to an IP address (for example, 192.168.1.88).

See this article if you're having trouble remembering your password.

What CT do I choose from the CT drop-down selection?

You may also wish to refer to our CT Selection Guide for additional information.  For firmware versions prior to v2.16, the CT is identified by the amperage rating of the installed CT (not the amperage rating of the circuit being monitored). Starting in firmware v2.16, each supported CT has its own drop-down menu selection. Firmware v3.02 added a 2-letter manufacturer prefix to the beginning of each entry. The CT drop-down menu format on firmware v3.02 and later is as follows:

[MFG] [MODEL] [SIZE_MM]/[SIZE_IN] [AMPERAGE]
[MFG] 2-letter manufacturer code (see below table)
[MODEL] Model of the CT (see below table)
[SIZE_MM] CT inner-diameter in millimeters
[SIZE_IN] CT inner-diameter in inches
[AMPERAGE] CT amperage rating

 

MFG Code Description
JD J&D
CC Continental Control Systems
ML Magnelab
AE AccuEnergy
RCT Rogowski coil (rope CT)
CR CR Magnetics

 

MODEL Description
JS Split-core CT
JRFS Rogowski coil (rope CT)
ACT High-accuracy split-core CT
SCT Split-core CT
RCT Rogowski coil (rope CT)
CR Solid-core DC CT
CRS Split-core DC CT

For example, a 100A 0.94" J&D split-core CT (eGauge SKU JD-SCT-024-0100) should be configured as:

JD JS 24mm/0.94" 100A

 

 

How do I change the color or style of my lines?

The default colors for Usage and Generation can be changed from the Preferences menu, under Settings -> Preferences. This can be helpful for users with red/green colorblindness. Note that this is a global change - every register without a custom line style will be modified.
1. Select Settings from the top right corner of the screen.
2. Select Preferences from the menu on the left side of the screen.
3. Navigate down the page to "Color that represents energy usage (negative numbers)" and "Color that will represent energy generation (positive numbers)". Clicking the colored box containing color hex codes will bring up a color selection palette. The selected color(s) will replace the default red/green coloration on every register (including the shaded areas "Energy Used" and "Energy Generated") except those that have different colors/line styles specified on the Preferences page. 
4. Make sure to click "Save" at the bottom of the page.

You may use custom register styles to change the color and line style of a specific register. This can be done under Settings -> Preferences, in the "Custom Register Styles" field. Each custom register style has the following options: 

Register    Which physical register should appear in the defined style
Color Color for the chosen register (clicking here opens a color palette)
Line Line style and thickness
Sign Whether to style the line for positive, negative, or both signs

Below is an example where a subgroup of registers is configured to use unique colors and solid (rather than dotted) lines:

image-1631723274731.png

Note that you must click "Save" at the bottom of the page to save any changes. The main graph page will also need to be reloaded to show the changes. Changes here cannot cause a loss of historical data or other problems, so feel free to experiment!

Why do I get the error "Sorry, you are not authorized to make this change"?

This occurs when the username and password entered is valid, but the eGauge doesn't accept those credentials for making changes. This will happen for one of two reasons: 

If you need remote administration enabled so you do not have to go through LAN Access, you may enable it using eGuard Manager or submit a request to support@egauge.net with the device name (and MAC address if the device is not registered to you).

 

I've erased all of my data, how can I get it back?

Overview

From firmware version 3.6.3 onward, the eGauge meter will ask the user whether they want to clear historical data after making changes to the Installation page (located at Settings -> Installation). This is a convenience feature for new installs. Since data recorded prior to configuration is generally not accurate, it makes sense to remove this data as part of the configuration process. However, users unfamiliar with this feature may accidentally clear data without intending to do so. Fortunately, this data is not erased - rather, it is simply hidden from view. This article explains the process to recover data hidden in this way. A brief video tutorial is also available. 

The Zero Out Data tool erases data permanently. If data was cleared using this tool, it cannot be recovered.

 

Recovery process

The following prompt will appear immediately after clicking "Save" on the Installation page for any meter running firmware version 3.6.3 or later. The recovery steps after this point assume the user has clicked "OK" on this prompt.

image-1617396450858.png

Note that the meter will also ask the user if they want to reboot the meter - the meter must be rebooted when prompted, or the configuration may not be saved properly. Certain configuration changes don't require a reboot, but generally the meter must be rebooted when prompted.

Assuming the user has erroneously cleared data, the process to recover that data is as follows:

1. Navigate to Settings -> General Settings.
2. Under "Date & time when recording started", enter the date and time when recording actually started (generally when the meter was installed).
3. Click "Save" at the bottom of the page.

If the user doesn't know when the meter actually started recording valid data:

1. Navigate to Settings -> General Settings.
2. Set "Date & time when recording started" to a point far in the past (eg, 1/1/2020 12:00am)
3. Click "Save" at the bottom of the page.
4. Navigate back to the main graph page and use the purple buttons above the graph to select the "All" zoom option:

image-1617396733129.png

5. Using the click to zoom function, zoom in on the start of recording (in this example, recording started around October 27th 2019, with some junk data prior to that point):

image-1617396798062.png

6. Make a note of the actual start of recording, then navigate back to Settings -> General Settings.
7. Enter the actual start of recording in "Date & time when recording started" and click "Save"

 

Video Tutorial

The following video contains a video example of the process described above.